144th Fighter Wing 2015 Airmen of the Year

  • Published
  • By 2nd Lt. Jason Sanchez
  • 144th Fighter Wing Public Affairs
Cheers and applause greeted the nominees and award winners at the 144th Fighter Wing Outstanding Airmen of the Year Banquet in Fresno, California, November 7, 2015. With over 400 attendees, it is the largest banquet hosted by the wing.

U.S. Air Force Col. Clay Garrison, the commander at the 144th Fighter Wing, said, "it's great to see the wing come together to recognize excellence and to recognize people who have gone above and beyond."

"The event was a success and had a great turn out. I thoroughly enjoyed the camaraderie and all the support that was given to the nominees from the crowd," said U.S. Air Force Chief Master Sgt. Linda Brown, the command chief master sergeant at the 144th Fighter Wing. Brown expressed her esteem for all the nominees. "Even to be nominated is a huge achievement. To me they are all winners."

Congratulations to the 2015 Outstanding Airmen of the Year award winners:

Airman of the Year
Senior Airman Andrew Cochran

Non-commissioned Officer of the Year
Tech. Sgt. Gordon Pipes

Senior Non-commissioned Officer of the Year
Master Sgt. Antonio Chacon

First Sgt. of the Year
Senior Master Sgt. Jeremiah Burleson

Company Grade Officer of the Year
2nd Lt. Max Montellano

Field Grade Officer of the Year
Lt. Col. Jonathan Cartwright

The six outstanding Airmen will go on to represent the wing at the state level. The tradition of recognizing outstanding Airmen was first established at the tenth annual National Convention of the Air Force Association in 1956. It has grown to become an anticipated annual event that is held by Air Force bases around the world.